En Route to Aus

You always think you’re going to have loads of time at the airport, waiting to board your flight. At least, I always think this and then find myself frantically rushing about trying to achieve a million things in a half hour stint (pretty sure I’ve bought every adaptor in existence several times over; they just seem to disappear into a black hole). Yesterday was no different and though I intended to launch this blog whilst sipping on an iced coffee at Caffè Nero in Heathrow Airport, I am actually publishing this in Delifrance, Hong Kong airport the following day, having written up the post on the plane.

As anticipated, this week was long, challenging and so bitterly, bitterly cold, but I got through it and as I arrived home from work yesterday afternoon, I felt a huge weight had been lifted. No less because Andy Murray has made it through the first week! It’s hit home again this year how time difference has really limited my enjoyment of the Australian Open up until now. You wake up to match results. You view snippet updates on your Twitter feed as you commute into work (‘Has anyone else seen that Djokovic has just gone out?’ I wondered (almost) out loud, looking around at my fellow commuters as the bus rolled down Brixton Hill). You check-in briefly with the BBC commentary when you arrive at your desk. But by the time your caffeine fix has kicked in properly and you’re ready to face the day, Australia has gone to bed.

You can understand why I’m so excited to be able to view this tournament in real time. And if the second week is anything like the first week, it’s going to be an incredible week of tennis! My man Andy has won the first three rounds in straight sets, most recently beating Sam Querry, the man who knocked Djokovic out of Wimbledon last year. Fellow countryman Dan Evans, currently ranked 51 in the world, has shown everyone that his impressive play in Wimbledon last year was not a fluke: he’s already beaten Marin Cilic, the world number 7, and Aussie Bernard Tomic, ranked 27th, to join Andy in the fourth round – what a hero. Not forgetting Johanna Konta who is smashing her way through the womens tournament, most recently beating Caroline Wozniacki to ensure her place in the last 16. C’mon the Brits. Meanwhile, the shock of the tournament has been Djokovic going out in the second round, although perhaps less surprising really given his early exits from Wimbledon and the Olympics last year. As you can probably imagine, my initial reaction was a mix of joy, shock and disbelief, and I was messaging everyone in my phonebook to tell them (I really appreciate how many of my friends humour me and my tennis chat – thanks guys). Djokovic has been the reason why Andy has lost 4/5 of his Australian Open finals. Does Novak’s early exit finally pave the way for a Murray win?

Leave a Reply

